The Walking Dead News Interviews Gale Anne Hurd

Gale Anne Hurd is one of the executive producers on The Walking Dead and I was lucky to get a chance to talk to her about the series. When I called her I called her at work and when I heard “You have reached The Walking Dead” I know I have dialed the right number.

Lilja: So, The Walking Dead, season finale, 9 million viewers. Pretty impressive.

Gale Anne Hurd: Yeah, we were certainly thrilled and it’s always unexpected when the show continues to build and since it’s a serialized show for it to make sense people need to be watching all along so we were delighted by that rating. And then it aired again later in the evening and anther million and a half watched then.

Lilja: Impressive. There are about 9,5 million people living in Sweden…

Gale Anne Hurd: So more people in the US watched the show that night than live in Sweden…Wow…

Lilja: Yeah.

Gale Anne Hurd: So our goal now is to make sure that every person in Sweden watches the show [laugh]

Lilja: Yeah, definitely. The show is a success here.

Gale Anne Hurd: Fantastic!

Lilja: Yeah, I’m a bit surprised. Swedish television doesn’t usually air shows like The Walking Dead but this time they did and it’s a success.

Gale Anne Hurd: That’s great. I’m happy to hear that. So if our cast comes to Stockholm they’ll be celebrity’s?

Lilja: Definitely. How did you get involved with The Walking Dead?

Gale Anne Hurd: About four years ago I had read the comic book which had been publishing for a few years then but I was late for it. I read it and I thought that it was fantastic and even though I normally do films this doesn’t make sense being a film because it’s a continuing journey of the survivors so you can’t really end it at any point. And I thought this would be a fantastic TV series so I had my office track down who controlled the rights to it and I found that Frank Darabont and the creator Robert Kirkman had the rights. It also turns out Frank Darabont is a long time and very dear friend of mine and my husband because he actually, in the beginning of his career, he and my husband Jonathan Hensleigh, also a writer, worked for George Lucas on the Indiana Jones TV series. So I got involved after Frank had already been involved but the project at that time didn’t have a home and I was able to take it to AMC and set it up with them.

For full in-depth interview please visit Lilja at

www.twdnews.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Seasons Of Insanity

Preparing For The Zombie Apocalypse

Kapil Srivastav

Music Consultant & Career Counselor | Author & Trainer, Composer, Guitarist | Marketing & Business Consultant

sarah on the go!

A Lifestyle Blog for the Young & Curious

AnDea

Where SPN meets TWD

Team Hellions

Your GEEK destination.

The Walking Dead News

Latest news on The Walking Dead

stabs in the dark.

horror reviews absurdly written

Box Office Buzz

Entertainment news

VALHALLA ENTERTAINMENT

Welcome to GALE ANNE HURD'S Valhalla Entertainment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

